Hostgator Reviews

Hostgator is a company that provides web hosting services. The best way to find out if you will like a web host is to read about the experiences that others have had. Below you will find reviews of Hostgator from real customers. If Hostgator hosting has great support and happy customers, you’ll know it by reading the reviews here.

If you want to compare hosting plans from Hostgator with plans from other web hosts, try our simple Hosting Wizard. If you have used Hostgator or if you are currently using them, please post a review to let others know what to expect.

Average Hostgator Rating: 3.02 (14 Total Reviews)

Hostgator

Web hosting reviews for Hostgator
Web host rating: 3.02 based on 14 ratings

Hostgator  ReviewsWrite a Hostgator Web Hosting Review!

Hostgator Web Hosting Plans

    Dedicated

    Shared

    Compare all hosting plans from Hostgator

    Hostgator Web Hosting Reviews

    Showing review 1 to 14 of 14

    aniket aniket
    worst services
    June 11, 2015 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Business
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
    Website: http://webhostingreviews.com/

    Beware! Worst Ever Hosting Provider my webhostingreviews for hostgator Worst webhost ever! Their servers can't even run simple WordPress sites properly. Every 2-3 days my website stopped working. Often MySQL database would stop working. My last year with them was worst suffering. I wasted a lot of time emailing them tickets and calling them. Rankings of my website went became poor due to their server problems. Please don't go for it. Choose only reputed hosting provider, never trust such liars and their promises.
    Jack Jack
    Many lost hours waiting for tech support
    May 15, 2014 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Business
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
    Website: http://webhostingreviews.com/

    I have SSL included as part of my business package. Recently, they sent me a notice saying that I would need to renew my SSL or it would expire and gave me a link to do so. When I did that, They sent me another email with the charges that I would need to pay. When I pointed out it was already paid for with my package, they agreed, but then did something to mess up my SSL so that it wouldn't work anymore. I have been waiting and waiting (more than an hour) for tech support. This is my second attempt, since I had to give up after the first hour of waiting due to a business appointment. No matter whether you call by phone or online chat, the wait is well over one hour. They say "30 minutes," but that is just a standard reply. Pay whatever extra money you need to to get a more responsive web host, especially if you depend on it for business.
    Cosmobot Cosmobot
    No complaints, good hosting
    January 25, 2014 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Baby
    Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
    Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
    Website: http://webhostingreviews.com/

    I've had hostgator 2 years. No troubles. Got malware put onto my site once and they cleaned it right out. Good customer support. Web site always hums right along, no down time that I know of.
    Krishoo Krishoo
    Bad Services
    December 7, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Basic
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: It is difficult to use and doesn't meet my needs.
    Website: http://www.krishoo.com

    i use hostgator dedicated server but not satisfied because hostgator services is very bed so please i am tired with hostgator so please not use hostgator. Hostgator agent is say's next time no problem but next one or two day same problem created. i am feel discounting.
    Shan the caliph Shan the caliph
    Hostgator, why the best
    December 6, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Baby
    Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
    Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
    Website: http://bachauthors.com/

    Hostgator is one of the best web host on the web. Awesome support system, easy to use interface, cool plans all these things collectively form "Great name". If you want to get your blog hosted at Hostgator then congratulations, you have choosen the right host for you. Secondly, you can get arround $9.99 discount on all of the Hostgator service using coupon code "Bachfriday". I will be thankful to you if you will use below link to signup for your hosting experience(Cause I'm an affiliate at "Competition eaters") http://goo.gl/Bub94T
    JDob JDob
    No issues with Hostgator
    March 29, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Business
    Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
    Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
    Website: http://bachauthors.com/

    As a web developer, I have 25 sites hosted with HostGator and as far as hosting goes, I've never had any major issues with them. Tech support always came through when I had any issues. They aren't the best overall but they are a tons better than others like GoDaddy, Network Solutions and Dreamhost. The control Panel is easy to use and set up, server speed isn't the fastest but very acceptable. It depends on what your needs are in terms of hosting packages, but for a decently priced hosting provider, I would highly recommend HostGator.
    Jeff Jeff
    Don't trust you site to these guys
    January 8, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Elite
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: It is difficult to use and doesn't meet my needs.
    Website: http://FuckHostGator.com

    My experience with Host Gator makes me believe their trade practices are deceptive. Their website says they offer: Unlimited Web Hosting Web Hosting made EASY and AFFORDABLE! Unlimited Disk Space Unlimited Bandwidth But, there terms of service negate everything their marketing espouses. I created a website for my family, but specifically my grandmother, that had pictures of our family that rotated randomly every time she came to the site, hosted on hostgator.com. She spends all day staring at those pictures. Hostgator suspended the account in violation of the terms of their service agreement claiming I was storing the pictures on their server. But, thatís the point of a website; storing and making available content for distribution. After much ado, itís clear to me that all that the hostgator people are interested in is taking your money and not providing the service for which you pay them. I will not be doing business with them in the future. If you have a similar story, please email: stories@fuckhostgator.com Iíll review and post your responses.
    DogStar DogStar
    All Good Came To AN END
    November 27, 2012 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Baby
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
    Website: http://FuckHostGator.com

    I was SO excited about HostGator when we first switched everything over to them in 2009. Things were smooth, customer support was on it, & I referred them to anyone & everyone. The last year or so, for whatever reason, support has been half-witted, affiliate payouts have never been paid, & when contacting them, they are completely unresponsive. Either they got big in the head & no longer see themselves as a smaller dedicated to their customers kind of company, or just really don't want to deal with their customers. Unfortunately, I can no longer recommend them, suggest them, and am in the process of leaving & taking handfuls of clients with me.
    GoldVIP 10+ years GoldVIP 10+ years
    Moved from NetSol to HostGator--and they rock!
    November 2, 2012 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Baby
    Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
    Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
    Website: http://FuckHostGator.com

    I just left my former registrar and hosting provider--Network Solutions, mainly due to their extremely slow WordPress servers and poor uptime stats. So far, HostGator is great! WordPress sites load 5-10 times faster than they did at NetSol. The control panel, cPanel, is very easy to use, and is a big reason I went with them. Gator has perhaps the most third-party webtools, built right into their cPanel. Customer service is truly 24/7. Last night, I almost fell off my chair when the phone support CSR answered on the first ring, with no hold time! The live chat support is also very good. Daytime live-chat wait times can climb to 25 minutes or more, but are almost always available in three minutes or less during off-hours (usually only a minute). CSRs are very polite. Open-ticket CSRs (reachable via e-mail only) seem very high-level with very good technical knowledge. E-mailed open-ticket CSR response time was faster than expected--a reply came in only a couple of hours. Reasons to go with HostGator: 1. Good pricing. 2. Unlimited shared hosting for about $10 a month. 3. True 24/7 tech support via phone, live-chat, and e-mail. 4. Reported partnership with Cisco, Dell, etc. 5. Self-proclaimed robust architecture (lots of fiber, etc.). 6. Located in Dallas, TX (which seems "safer" than Florida). 7. Not owned by censor-happy Mormons (e.g., BlueHost, et.al.) 8. Excellent cPanel application, plus Fantastico Deluxe. 9. Supports many third-party webtools, SQLs, etc. via cPanel. 10. HostGator is recommended by name in the book, "SEO Master Using the Power of Wordpress." While my WordPress pages are loading 5-10 times faster than NetSol's, HostGator does also offer "unlimited" everything, so there's a chance they may "over-sell" my server at some point, (as one reviewer below seems to indicate). But at this time, my service is pretty snappy, and I couldn't be more pleased with their level of available customer support options, and minimal wait-times. Hope this great service continues!
    SammyRonaldo SammyRonaldo
    Hostgator experience: Not for business accounts
    September 24, 2012 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Business
    Support: They are okay. Help with any problems but it can take a while.
    Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
    Website: http://FuckHostGator.com

    Experience with hostgator? DEFINITELY NOT FOR BUSINESS ACCOUNTS. First of all: The server response time is a joke. No search engine will ever put a page with these server response times on the first pages. So if SEO ranking is a factor for you, hostgator is the wrong decision. Additionally, the support sometimes is just not interested in resolving problems. Some tickets were answered in time, some just not solved until today. So to summarize my experience and this review about hostgator: If you have a static HTML website then you can chose them. Only problem: They are too expensive to host private pages and business owners are lost on this webspace... My experience with hostgator is: If you are a business owner, stay away, or you will have lots of headache soon.

    Showing review 1 to 14 of 14

    Click here to write a review of Hostgator

    Discuss Hostgator

    © Host Shopper | Web Host Comparisons | All Rights Reserved