Dotster Reviews

Dotster is a company that provides web hosting services. The best way to find out if you will like a web host is to read about the experiences that others have had. Below you will find reviews of Dotster from real customers. If Dotster hosting has great support and happy customers, you’ll know it by reading the reviews here.

If you want to compare hosting plans from Dotster with plans from other web hosts, try our simple Hosting Wizard. If you have used Dotster or if you are currently using them, please post a review to let others know what to expect.

Average Dotster Rating: 1.25 (29 Total Reviews)

Dotster

Web hosting reviews for Dotster
Web host rating: 1.25 based on 29 ratings

Dotster  ReviewsWrite a Dotster Web Hosting Review!

Dotster Web Hosting Plans

    Shared

    Compare all hosting plans from Dotster

    Dotster Web Hosting Reviews

    Showing review 1 to 10 of 29 | Next | Last

    Tommy C Tommy C
    AVOID Dotster
    October 28, 2014 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Several different products
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
    Website: http://www.bucksmonttech.com

    AVOID DOTSTER !!! I was a customer since it was 000Domains and from 2013on the quality of the services they provide have gone way down hill. 4 hour email delays and failure to deliver are a daily occurrence. Techs will say its the other guys problem then when you prove to them it is indeed a Dotster problem they will say the issue is fixed and the next day the problems start back up again. Dotster also resorted to giving me phony supervisor names and dishonest communication became common place. This can bring a business to its knees. After almost 2 years of trying to stick it out with Dotster it is absolutely clear to me that this company is incapable of providing reliable service. Tech support is friendly, just incompetent and incapable. I finally bit the bullet and moved all my domains to another service provider and all my problems went away. I am submitting this review in hopes of saving potential newcomers from making the mistake of choosing Dotster and watching their business fail due to this incompetent service provider.
    Luce M Diffundo Luce M Diffundo
    Don't Choose Dotster, Alas
    October 5, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Pro
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
    Website: http://www.bucksmonttech.com

    DO NOT USE DOTSTER! At this point, 10/05/2013, I heartily would NOT RECOMMEND Dotster as a host. This is very unfortunate, as I have been a customer since 2008, and after having been through a bunch of other poor hosts, was relieved that I never, ever had issues with Dotsterhost, which has recently changed, and was only aware of my sites being down once for a short period in the entire time I was a hosted there. I have purchase more than 3 dozen domains through Dotster, and have advised my clients since 2008 to use Dotster (formerly Dotsterhost). I design sites, am an IT professional, and can follow instructions and procedures. In other words, I know that of which I speak. And do. Three days ago I attempted to close one account, and move the domains (roughly 30, all but 6 parked) to another account. The procedure, once outlined by a rep, seemed simple enough, and I followed it exactly. HOWEVER, now I am down completely, my business and personal sites are not just down but I am out of contact via email with clients, PayPal, etc etc etc., and the reason is because of the incompetence of the customer service reps at Dotster, which are obviously not in-country, never the same rep, each one giving different advice or demanding ID information well after the fact, and after these were accommodated, they transferred one domain over. It is Saturday night. I should be ENJOYING myself. Instead, I am scrambling to figure out what the hell is wrong with these people, and RANTING MAD. I am utterly powerless to effect any immediate change and so am feeling like a non-essential US Govt employee must feel right now, NO IDEA WHAT MY IMMEDIATE FUTURE HOLDS, and after drinking amply at the internet pro's well, am currently stranded in the deep dark frustrating desert. My criteria for webhosts is Uptime, features-per-price, and COMPETENT CUSTOMER SERVICE. In my immediate and likely to be ongoing experience (transferring to another host will take as much time and effort as getting these knuckleheads to accommodate this simple procedure), Dotster Customer Service is **incompetent**, and, worse, there is no holding them accountable for such crappy and business/buzz-killing, as they are clearly from a place on the other side of the planet, and I am sure that the terms and conditions that I, ahem, whatever, absolves them from any litigation arising from lost business. I am certain they do not care about my problem, as their responses are growing more asinine as my irritation and frustration exceeds my ability to keep it civil. Please note, my original correspondences with these..., anyway, it was very civil and full of "thank you"s and "please"s, and by the 3rd response, after the instructions from rep #1 failed to work and #2 suggested I had to follow the procedures outlined by #1, and then #3 requested my CC info AND a list of the domains I wished transferred, since they had to do it MANUALLY, I was LOSING IT with them... ....You know, you've been there. If you haven't, and dont want to GO there, then: DO NOT USE DOTSTER. DO NOT USE DOTSTER. DO NOT USE DOTSTER (Ahhhhh that feels GOOD after what I have been through these past 3 days!!!). Oh, by the way, DO NOT USE DOTSTER!!
    Mark Johnson Mark Johnson
    Cancelled the Transfer
    August 15, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Other
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: It is difficult to use and doesn't meet my needs.
    Website: http://www.bucksmonttech.com

    The tech support at dotster is so dismal that I cancelled my domain transfer before it was even complete. These people are morons. Stay away!
    jim neczypor jim neczypor
    the worst ever
    March 23, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Other
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: It is difficult to use and doesn't meet my needs.
    Website: http://www.bucksmonttech.com

    the worst ever. often my mail and or server is down, they switch things up and kick me off without notice or transition. i have to spend hours trying to get back up again and again. i am dropping them asap.
    S. Media S. Media
    Migration Disaster
    March 6, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Other
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: It is difficult to use and doesn't meet my needs.
    Website: http://www.bucksmonttech.com

    Platform: Unix Customer Date: Several Years Migration Date: 1st Week of Jan-2013. March 6, 2013: All applications still down. 1) Dotster migrated website to new servers. 2) Absolute paths to Root and Document Root are different on the new servers, breaking all applications installed via their control panel. This included e-commerce, chat programs, etc. 3) Several Calls and Updated Tickets with full details of issue. Simply stated, all they have to do is recreate the alias folder names that were created during the initial installations. I can update the app config files to complete the restoration process, and be up and running. Of course, they cannot restore original paths. 4) Techs obviously had no knowledge of virtual or alias web folders. One response in a ticket stated that the alias folder was in a database, and they would update the databases to resolve. 5) Support is willing to do anything but escalate to an admin, and resolve issue in 10 minutes. 6) This happened to 100's of migrated customers, and was due to a serious lack of planning.
    Andy Dale Andy Dale
    Worst ever! Stay away!
    January 29, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Other
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: It is difficult to use and doesn't meet my needs.
    Website: http://www.bucksmonttech.com

    I was automatically transferred to Dotster when they bought my former registrar NameZero. After a while I suddenly realized emails where no longer getting through any of my domains. Dotster provided no previous warning and the support on the issue was non-existent. I'm now trying to move away from this joke of a company. Problem is, i have whois-privacy enabled since the time with NameZero and now I can't update the contact details myself, so i'm waiting for Dotster support to take care of it. It's been several weeks, calls, emails, tweets and support tickets - still nothing! I don't wish my worst enemy this hell that is being stuck with the non-existent support of Dotster. Please be adviced - stay away from these clowns, they're the worst in the business - all categories!
    Mike Mike
    Migration Disaster!
    January 22, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Standard Windows
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: It is difficult to use and doesn't meet my needs.
    Website: http://www.bucksmonttech.com

    STAY AWAY FROM DOTSTER! You will be very very sorry if you get hooked up with these bafoons! Besides screwing up a platform migration on Jan 9th, they do not respond to tech support request via email and will keep you on phone hold for hours. In the end, they have still not restored my 2 websites after 2 weeks of "dead air" now. They have also slammed customers to more expensive webmail rates and caused many mailboxes to go over limit without notice. These people are beyond incompetent, they are just bad. DO NOT RISK YOUR BUSINESS WITH DOTSTER!!
    Heceldi Heceldi
    Final Straw
    January 19, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Other
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: It is difficult to use and doesn't meet my needs.
    Website: http://www.bucksmonttech.com

    I've been with Dotster for over 10 years. When they were bought out last year, one thing the new owners didn't buy was the courtesy, support, and reliability. They removed my contact info a week before renewals came due, so I received nothing about renewing. Payments didn't get made, so they wanted $250 per domain to recover them once my domains stopped working. Several hours with support and a few layers of management layer, I got them recovered without the extortion prices. Got all paid up, and their system now bills each year, per domain, separately. If you renew 10 domains for 1 year, expect to see 10 charges for about $15 all in a row on your statement. It gets worse... any sane bank will automatically chargeback all but 1 of the charges as 'accidental duplicate billing'. You won't find this out until your domains all go bad a month later when Dotster receives the chargeback. Then you have to pay again, along with an expensive chargeback fee, to get control of your domains again. If this was 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, or 2011, I would have recommended them whole-heartedly as very reliable with quick and easy to contact support. Now, expect contacting support to take an hour or more. Their new staff must be underpaid, based on their attitudes. When you do get a resolution, be prepared to resolve the resolution. When that's resolved, be prepared to resolve the resolution again. Stay clear. Once I have my domains back under my control, I'm leaving. They've lost a very long time, loyal customer who made the mistake of referring too many people to them.
    Subhash Subhash
    Worst Customer Support - Stay away from Dotster
    January 18, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Advanced Windows
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: It is difficult to use and doesn't meet my needs.
    Website: http://www.keralagreeney.travel

    Stay away from Dotster if you're looking for an online presence. Very unresponsive staff and no customer support. I've been a customer of dotster for 07 years. They close the support cases themselves and sometimes gives reply after days or weeks. My websites were down for 09 days and they did not bother to rectify it !!!
    Mel Mel
    Very disappointing
    December 30, 2012 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Standard Windows
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
    Website: http://www.ralphmelville.net/walk-and-view/raps

    Trying to load a freshly uploaded slide show, I end up in getting a site with a string of links to others. It's not my site but under my Domain. I have sent reports of my displeasure to Dotster's Customer Service but, to date, have not received the courtesy of a reply. I am contemplating switching hosts and mentioned as much. Does not seem to make one iota of a difference it seems. Stay off this host would be my advice..

    Showing review 1 to 10 of 29 | Next | Last

    Click here to write a review of Dotster

    Discuss Dotster

    © Host Shopper | Web Host Comparisons | All Rights Reserved