1and1 Reviews

1and1 is a company that provides web hosting services. The best way to find out if you will like a web host is to read about the experiences that others have had. Below you will find reviews of 1and1 from real customers. If 1and1 hosting has great support and happy customers, you’ll know it by reading the reviews here.

If you want to compare hosting plans from 1and1 with plans from other web hosts, try our simple Hosting Wizard. If you have used 1and1 or if you are currently using them, please post a review to let others know what to expect.

Average 1and1 Rating: 2.49 (35 Total Reviews)

1and1

Web hosting reviews for 1and1
Web host rating: 2.49 based on 35 ratings

1and1  ReviewsWrite a 1and1 Web Hosting Review!

1and1 Web Hosting Plans

    Shared

    VPS (Virtual Private Server)

    Compare all hosting plans from 1and1

    1and1 Web Hosting Reviews

    Showing review 1 to 10 of 35 | Next | Last

    JEKJ JEKJ
    VERY POOR SUPPORT
    July 20, 2014 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Business
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: It is difficult to use and doesn't meet my needs.

    Their support team takes AT LEAST 24 hours to respond to a simple question. Their telephone support reps have authority or knowledge to help you. Telephone reps need to "escalate" the issue to a particular department that you can't reach directly. All you can do is email that department and hope they reply. Most of the time, it takes them 1 or more days to reply. If you need reliability, then DO NOT go with 1and1. They offer very cheap INTRO rates that bait a lot of customers, so many that they probably don't have enough staff to handle I suspect.
    Rocky Kev Rocky Kev
    Coldcalls and spamming almost immediately
    July 19, 2014 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Home
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
    Website: http://www.consciouschildbirth.org

    After 3 days, I've gotten cold calls and 'web design companies' spamming in my inbox! I've purchased a few domain names over the past few years. 1and1 has been my recent purchase, and in the beginning, everything went off without a hitch. My order was simple - it was a custom domain name pointing to a wordpress site. First, it started with the cold call. She offered to sell me a 1 year trial and was touting how active her 'Tech Support in the Philippines' were. She told me how great they were, but they don't have twitter support or live chat support. She was then about to bill me but I had to continue to rephrase that I am not ready to make a decision just yet. Incredibly frustrating! But then the spam emails came in! These spam emails I'm getting are all written like a how hobbyist would write a craigslist ad. They offer a web designer, shows a link to proof, and always come out of nowhere. They're still trickling in! In summary, 1and1 works as a product. But I've never seen such spam from buying from the other services I purchase from (BlueHost, GoDaddy, Dreamhost, GoGator.) It's only been a few days and I am very upset. I'm strongly considering cancelling the service and getting my money. No one should pay for a service and have them sell your information away to a third party.
    Santa Santa
    STAY AWAY..else you will regret
    May 13, 2014 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: MS Business
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: It is difficult to use and doesn't meet my needs.
    Website: http://www.consciouschildbirth.org

    Two months back we registered 2 domains and an one year hosting plan with 1and1. First month there was no issue since we were just developing and testing the site, later we started getting errors in the control panel and we were not able to see our domains, we can't create subdomain, directory, or change the dns setting, mail setting. We were just 3 weeks away from our launch, for our mail we replied to 'change the browser', or'Clear the cache' nothing productive, then we made several calls...to our surprise the support people are too lazy to help us even to change the DNS setting for us. We did followup calls every 12hrs, the response was the same 'we are looking into it'...'it may take 48 hrs to resolve'. We couldn't see the domain name for a week still...preparing to leave 1and1 even we have to loose the domain names and the space. We should have considered the reviews about 1and1 seriously, we choose 1and1 just to save $8/month from other hosting...but we lost $$$$ in client billing, we are delayed in our launch...please STAY AWAY from 1and1.
    Scott L. Scott L.
    Borderline Fraudulent
    November 3, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: MS Business
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
    Website: http://Stickerjumbo.net

    I received a call from their sales department offering an inexpensive way to sell online. Currently, I sell my inventory on Amazon and I was looking for another way to sell my inventory online, so I accepted the request for information. I was told several times that there was no limit to the number of items I could sell on my website. I verified this with a supervisor as it seemed too good to be true; the price was $79.99 per month all inclusive-100%. After spending over an hour with them verifying the services were going to meet my needs I gave them my credit card for payment of the $79.99 that Courtney D. Had already requested several times. Then I was transferred to the expert who was the crucial part to this product named "website by experts". He immediately informed me that the limit to the number of items I could sell was 50 to 100. This service was targeted towards small businesses that have minimal online merchant needs. I was furious that my time was wasted and I was at the very least misled, and probably just lied to. After spending another 30 minutes trying to cancel the services I finally gave up and waited 7 days until the charge posted on my credit card and I could dispute it. All I can say is never again will I do business with this company. Not because of this one serious mistake, but rather the non response of my request for management to call me back. I left messages via telephone and sent 3 emails to different departments.
    min min
    Such a rip off
    October 10, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Beginner
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
    Website: http://Stickerjumbo.net

    I cancelled my account on the day of the renewal and it did not get cancelled even though I received a confirmation from them that the cancellation was accepted. Less than a month after, I saw a renewal fee from them so I went back to their website and cancelled it AGAIN! and I emailed them asking for a refund since I cancelled it less than 24 hours after the renewal. I also attached the 2 confirmation emails they sent me but their response is pretty much SOL for me. This company is such a rip off and I hate that their top execs are probably getting millions of $ a year while the company continues to rip off consumers who make < 1% a year.
    Miron Hancock Miron Hancock
    Pay your bill or face the collection agency in a hurry!
    September 29, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Beginner
    Support: They are okay. Help with any problems but it can take a while.
    Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
    Website: http://Stickerjumbo.net

    My credit card expired in May this year and my automatic payment didn't go through. I never received the first notice by mail, did receive the second one but misplaced it and forgot about the whole thing. Definitely MY mistake. However, 1and1 did not treat my business as a business partner but as a dead beat dad; they sicked a collection agency on my business. They are collecting $18.95. All that time I have to spend to fix this mistake of mine. Way more than $19, or even $100. You business owners know what I am talking about. Although they were able to reach me by phone to pressure me to buy a 9 mile radius advertising campaign I didn't want, somehow they couldn't find my phone number and call me about this! Or email me!!! Very disappointing, and yes, we took notice and will act accordingly.
    Francis Muir Francis Muir
    Poor service
    September 18, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: MS Business
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
    Website: http://Stickerjumbo.net

    What's happened to this company? When I opened my account with them years ago their European based technical support was excellent and any issues quickly resolved. I ran in to problems trying to register a new domain (the message "Awaiting Approval"). Two weeks and five support calls later it was nowhere near resolution. The support person actually cancelled the account without being asked to. The call centre is now outsourced and the staff appear to have no clue or at least no ability to resolve issues. Accounts for me and all my clients now closed.
    aj aj
    Don't trust 1 and 1
    August 21, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Business
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: It is difficult to use and doesn't meet my needs.
    Website: http://Stickerjumbo.net

    Do not trust 1 & 1, they will entice you with attractive special offers. I signed up with them and found it virtually impossible to cancel their services. They bombard you with scores of junk mail. Hidden in these may be an email about renewal. There’s a good chance you’ll miss it. You may be on holiday, your pc may put it in junk mail. The next thing, your contract is renewed without you doing anything. I tried to cancel with them, they wouldn’t let me. I wrote by recorded delivery, they denied having seen the letter. I had proof. I tried to cancel on their website, it wasn’t working, they told me to cancel through customer support. I tried this with their overseas telephone staff. This didn’t work, they denied I had called. I had telephone records proof. I sent 20 e-mails, this didn’t work. They would not let me go until I had paid for a service that I did not want. Be very wary of 1&1, all they want is your money, whether or not you want their services. They are very clever, they know exactly what they are doing, and they don’t care a jot, as long as they get your money. I would never trust them. Beware of 1 & 1, you might lose and lose!
    Christian James Christian James
    Horrible Telemarketing
    July 15, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Other
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: It is difficult to use and doesn't meet my needs.
    Website: http://www.novats.net

    I asked to be put on the do not call list for this company as soon as they called me. The guy could not even let me talk. I repeated literaly without exaggeration about 30 times to be put on the do not call list and he kept talking over me trying to offer me a free web site. They really need to train their employees.
    vol1980 vol1980
    STAY AWAY!!
    June 16, 2013 Permalink
    Overall Rating:
    Product Purchased: Business
    Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
    Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
    Website: http://www.novats.net

    When I signed up with 1and1 for a site I had a larger site so I added websitebuilder PLUS @ $9.99 per month. After a while I realized I did not need this service and called to cancel at the end of the period I HAD ALREADY PAID for.(there were over 2 months left that were paid for) They instead cancelled immediately and when I discovered this 2 days later I called to ask them to correct their error they said they could not do so and that if I wanted the product reactivated I would have to pay for 3 more months! So I then asked to have the unused time I had paid for refunded they said they do not give refunds on added services. In addition in less than 4 years my basic hosting monthly rate has increased by almost 48%!! I started at $9.99 per month in 2009. It went up to $12.99 a month in 2011 and this year they are increasing to $14.99 a month. STAY AWAY! FIND ANOTHER HOST! THIS ONE IS THE WORST!!

    Showing review 1 to 10 of 35 | Next | Last

    Click here to write a review of 1and1

    Discuss 1and1

    © Host Shopper | Web Host Comparisons | All Rights Reserved